Chung Mong-gyu (61), president of the Korea Football Association, failed in the FIFA council member election.

Chairman Chung finished sixth out of seven candidates for the FIFA Council member election held at the 33rd Asian Football Confederation (AFC) General Assembly held in Minama, Bahrain on the 1st.

There are five 먹튀검증 members of the FIFA Council for Asia. Chairman Chung only received 19 out of 45 valid votes from the 46 member states of the AFC. He suffered a defeat along with China’s Dujiaokai County FIFA Council member, who received 18 votes and stayed in 7th place.

Qatar’s Sheikh Ahmad Khalifa Al Thani was elected to the council as the first with 40 votes, the most. Japan’s Kelp Kozo current FIFA Council member with 39 votes, Saudi Arabia’s Yasser Almisehal with 35 votes, Philippines’ Mariano V Araneta Jr. with 34 votes, and Malaysia’s Datuk Haji Hamidi bin Haji Mohd Amin with 30 votes. entered and obtained membership.

Chairman Chung was elected as a member of the FIFA Council in 2017 and worked for nearly two years. However, in April 2019, he failed to seek re-election in the FIFA Council member elections, and also gave up his then-concurrent AFC vice-presidentship.

Chairman Chung tried again for the council member election after four years, but he failed again, revealing the limits of his diplomatic power in the international arena. As a Korean, Chung Mong-joon, honorary president of the Korea Football Association, served as a member of the FIFA Executive Committee for 17 years from 1994 to 2011.

The current president of Sheikh Salman bin Ibrahim Al Khalifa (Bahrain), who was the sole candidate for the AFC presidency, succeeded in reappointing again without a vote. Alkaline Fahr serves his fourth term since 2013. The AFC President assumes the role of ex-officio FIFA Vice-President.

Han Eun-gyeong, vice president of the North Korean Football Association, ran for the East Zone and was elected as the female executive member, one from each of the five regions.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *